Vice-Regal and Commissioners’ Commendation

Viceregal Commendation

In July 1998,  Her Majesty The Queen approved the use of the Crown on the insignia of the soon to be established Vice-Regal and Commissioners' Commendation.  In January, 1999 the Commendation was formally created.  The Commendation is a method for lieutenant governors and territorial commissioners' to use to recognize the important services provided to their offices in each province and territory. 

The very first recipient of the Commendation in all of Canada was a member of the Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia's Household, Mary McGrath, who received it in 1999.

Only lieutenant governors and territorial commissioners can submit nominations for the recognition.  The recipient must have in the course of their duties as a paid or volunteer staff member including those in the military and police, have performed one or more commendable acts that have benefited the office of a lieutenant governor or territorial commissioner.  The number of nominations permitted during a lieutenant governor's or territorial commissioners' mandate varies depending on the number of staff who serve in their Household.

The Commendation consists of a certificate along with a gold bar enamelled in blue with a circle containing three red maple leaves (as drawn from the Arms of Canada) surmounted by a Royal Crown.  The lapel pin is a circular badge depicting three red maple leaves in the centre surmounted by the Royal Crown - in recognition of those who serve the Crown in Canada. 

Image courtesy: Office of the Governor General


Below is a list of the recipients who have received the Vice-Regal and Commissioners' Commendation from the Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia:


Recipient Year Received
Mary McGrath 1999
Lieutenant-Colonel Stephen Kavanagh, CD, AdeC 2000
Lieutenant-Commander Ian McKee, CD, AdeC, RCN 2000
Annette Marshall  2006
Captain A. Ross Brown, CD, AdeC 2006
Maureen Hope 2010
Lieutenant-Commander Scott Nelson, MVO, RCN 2010
Inspector Warren MacEachern, AdeC 2010
Julie Stiles 2010
Commissionaire, CWO Brian Graves 2011
Salwa Majess 2011
Captain Douglas Keirstead, CD, AdeC 2011
Major Catherine Weis, CD, AdeC 2011
Major Tim Moser, CD, AdeC 2012
John Morrison 2012
Dr. Donald Julien, CM, ONS 2014